BiggerPockets

liability of buying renovation materials

Forum Powered By:

10 posts by 6 users

To participate in forum discussions, create a free account or login.

Daniel L.

Tennessee

Dec 02 '12, 08:49 AM

I'm a newbie investor and heard a rehab gal Robyn Thompson vehemently state one time that she would never buy materials for her renovations because it would open her up to being considered as a GC/employer if ever sued by an injured worker and another investor she knew had their wealth wiped out as a consequence of this. Does anybody here have any great insight into this/options to mitigate such liability? Before the suggestion gets made of placing investment properties in separate land trusts or separate LLCs...One difficult consideration Memphis imposes is something called Hall tax which imposes a 6% tax on the investment proceeds of entities like LLCs & trusts but not properties held by an individual (If I understood a lawyer correctly).

http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Hall_income_tax

So are there insurance offerings that address this liability and a person would just buy sufficient insurance coverage? Your insight is most appreciated!

J Scott Moderator Donor

Real Estate Investor from Ellicott City, Maryland

Dec 02 '12, 10:11 AM
1 vote

Yes, Robyn Thompson likes to tell that story about the roofer. While she is correct that purchasing materials is an indication of an employer/employee relationship, the IRS will look a the entire picture to determine the nature of the relationship, not just who buys the materials.

In fact, I have an old BP blog post that details many of the things the IRS will examine to determine employee vs contractor, and while im not an attorney or tax professional,I imagine that if you, by and large, treat the person as contractor and not an employee, just the act of buying materials won't negate that.

In fact, that blog post was inspired by Robyn's story...

I'll try to dig up that blog post when I get back to a computer...