• Englewood, CO
Votes |
Starting in REI

Powell Slinkard
  • Real Estate Investor
  • Englewood, CO
Posted Oct 13 2013, 20:34

Hello All,

I am new to REI but am looking to get started at a young age. To try and keep the message short I will provide readers with a brief background. I currently own two properties completely( no mortgage or loans) valued around $230k combined. I am looking to buy my next investment property but unsure on how to go about it. I have done a few months of basic research but still have mixed ideas.

Idea 1: get home equity loans say for $160k, and buy a duplex for $160k or less. This way I wont have to apply for a mortgage and will just have to pay back the HEL overtime hopefully at a low interest rate. Of course I will do my research and buy a property that produces positive cash flow. Combing my new homes rent income with my other two properties income, I will pay back my HEL hopefully under 5 years time. Now using my newly established equity in all three properties, I will repeat the process but buy a triplex or fourplex. Use the exact same method and in the future hope to buy an apartment complex.

Idea 2: Pull out the same amount HEL (aprrox. $160k) and put sizable down payments on two duplexes(or 3 or 4) and get traditional mortgages to cover the rest of the homes cost. From my understanding depending on the numbers that leveraging your money this way results in a larger return-on-investment versus paying all "cash".

Idea 3: save up my income from my current 2 properties and go the the traditional route of putting 20%-30% down on a duplex and getting a mortgage on the property.