Skip to content
Starting Out

User Stats

Votes
Riley Harrison
  • Professional
  • Reno, NV
Votes |
Determining the correct ARV on a Duplex, Triplex, or SFH for a 1st-Time Buy & Hold

Riley Harrison
  • Professional
  • Reno, NV
Posted Oct 30 2013, 11:19

Hello there Bigger Pockets Community,

I just want to quickly say that this website is a tremendous wealth of knowledge, and I'm so happy to have stumbled onto it! It's helped move me along in expanding my knowledge of real estate investing, and I couldn't be more thankful for the resources at hand.

That being said, I am still a 24 year old novice that hasn't broken onto the scene yet, and I have a few questions that hopefully somebody can answer or lend some insight. Though I do have the basics down, take these questions as if I know next to nothing.

My current situation is that I plan on moving to Reno, NV within the next month or two, as I'm currently about 40 minutes away in Truckee, CA. What I would like to do is find a duplex, triplex, or SFH with 3+ bedrooms that may or may not need some work, live in one part of the home, and rent out the rest as soon as the place is in rentable shape. I wouldn't mind living close to the university campus, as students are generally good tenants to have (as long as they don't trash the hell out of the place.)
For financing, I have a few options. With a steady job, I should be able to qualify (hopefully) for an FHA loan or 203k, which would only require a 3.5% down payment, plus the PMI.
Another option is my father, who has roughly 100k set aside for this type of investment, and would be happy to help out with fixing up the place and funding his portion of the deal, such as the normal 20% down on a traditional loan.