Votes
Christian Sgrignoli
  • Enola, PA
Votes |
1st deal in process! Should I Close?

Christian Sgrignoli
  • Enola, PA
Posted Jul 1 2015, 07:11

1. My background : Hello everyone! I'm new to bigger pockets. Started listening to the podcast on my regular drive from DC to harrisburg PA. The host and guest were persuasive on the value of utilizing the BP forum. Anyways, im new to real estate, but have experience in stocks and general finance.

2. Deal background: My question today is about if i should go ahead and close on a deal. There is a house that a current owner (realtor and investor) is selling. She presented the opportunity to a friend of mine that is currently doing seller financing on the house he is living in. He brought this deal to me about 2 weeks ago after i told him i wanted to get into real estate. The seller appears semi-motivated, as she is an older indian woman and this area is quite rough(when i visited the place there were candles on the front porch as someone was shot and killed there recently).

3. Deal basics: Caveat is that i met with my friend and seller yesterday and not much of finer details were discussed and that my friend and the seller have terms in place; although im assuming they can be changed. Anyone that sees a better option to structure the deal let me know.The current terms of the deal are seller financing, we will both put $2,000 down and pay standard amortization schedule over 4 years. The monthly payment to the seller was alittle over $900. My friend and i would be responsible for utilities. We will split risk/reward 50/50. He will handle tenant management and contracting work.