BiggerPockets

Start Up Property Management/Beginner Landlord

Forum Powered By:

8 posts by 6 users

To participate in forum discussions, create a free account or login.

N/A N/A

May 06 '06, 11:04 PM

Well I close in a few weeks on my first rental. It is a duplex with a current tenant and I will occupy the other side (owner occupy). I have tons of books all of which I have read cover to cover, however I would like some been in the trenches feed back from the members of the forum. I have a few questions but please feel free to give any other tips and suggestions in reguards to landlording and property management. sorry if any of my questions are no brainers, I am a super newbie :oops:

1). In order to start off on the right foot, should I open a checking account separate from my personal checking account? And should it be a business checking account?

2) I can’t afford an accountant right now and have very little to no bookkeeping experience, so I was thinking about purchasing Dr. Landlord Real Estate Software http://www.dr-landlord.com/gold-cd-rom.htm to help me run the property. Does anyone suggest otherwise?

Thank you

Edited Jun 26 2010, 02:57

Frank Adams

Loveland, CO

May 07 '06, 04:54 AM

Well I've always operated on the theory that SPENDING any money reduces my PROFITS, so I'd be pretty careful before BUYING anything, even about spending the extra money, or keeping an extra balance in a seperate checking account.

I have no idea what the software costs, but this site offers as much or more and it's FREE! So definitely hold off on that. I had 8 rentals before I had a seperate checking account, and the only reason I did it then was because my 9th, 10th, and 11th ppties I bought with other parties and it made the check writing "cleaner", not easier, just "cleaner".