Skip to content
Real Estate Deal Analysis & Advice

User Stats

Votes
Jared Lichtin
  • Flipper/Rehabber
  • Cleveland, OH
Votes |
Tracking my first FLIP! Pics & Numbers included..

Jared Lichtin
  • Flipper/Rehabber
  • Cleveland, OH
Posted Jul 1 2014, 21:38

Hello.  I'm Jared, a newer real estate investor in the Akron/Cleveland area.  I work full time as an attorney & live in Northwest Akron. I had always known an awesome contractor, so I figured I would use him to do my first remodel.

Six months after joining BP & researching the whole rehab & remodel game, I found a really good deal.  I had already done extensive research on the comps in my market, so I knew instantly that this was a good price.  I feel bad that I haven't been active on the forums during the rehab, so this post should make up for my lack of activity.  Here is the story of my first flip along with the numbers.  

I found this house the weekend before thanksgiving 2013. Originally listed at 153,000, I noticed a recent price drop to 128,000. The comps in this area were great. My research confirmed I could likely sell for 210-240. My contractor gave me an estimate at around 45k to remodel. Factoring in 4k for landscaping (irrigation issues) and an additional 10% I was probably looking at 50-60k spent on remodel. I spoke with another friend who invests in columbus. We agreed to JV w cash & putting both our names on the title. This was a one owner home built in 1966 in a nice area in Northwest Akron. I negotiated down to 119,500. Conventional mtg, 20% down, piti $1007. Closed on Jan 13, 2014. As you can see, not many updates had been done!