BiggerPockets

Licensed contractor to inspect Wholesale deal

Forum Powered By:

16 posts by 9 users

To participate in forum discussions, create a free account or login.

Brandon Spearman Sr

Norcross, Georgia

Apr 18 '12, 07:51 PM

BiggerPockets colleagues,

Am I waisting a contractors time if I ask them to walk the property with me in order to get an estimate on the repairs? I'm new to REI, and I need to determine how to calculate the ARV without paying for an inspector. I don't intend to hire the contractor to make the repairs, so is he giving me a free estimate?

Let me know what you all think. Thanks a lot.

J Scott Moderator Donor

Real Estate Investor from Ellicott City, Maryland

Apr 18 '12, 08:08 PM
2 votes

You're having a contractor walk a job with you and give you an estimate with no possibility you'll actually hire him to do the work...and you're asking if he's giving you a free estimate and wasting his time?

Of course you're wasting his time.

Instead, be up front with him, and offer to pay him for his time.

Medium_lishproplogoJ Scott, Lish Properties, LLC
E-Mail: [email protected]
CHECK OUT MY BIGGERPOCKETS BOOKS: http://www.biggerpockets.com/flippingbook

Joel Owens Moderator

Commercial Real Estate Broker from Canton, Georgia

Apr 18 '12, 09:12 PM

I have been thinking about this as well. I have been helping many who have contacted me with knowledge on certain types of deals.

I am thinking of charging a consulting fee that will be credited to the buyers at closing off of my commission when a purchase goes through.

I have to think about spending time with people who are serious about doing business and not just educating them and taking no action.

I sent a plumber out today to inspect plumbing on a vacant apartment building and I am paying him for the trip.