• Rental Property Investor
  • California, CA
Votes |
Suggestions for areas that provide ~1.5%/month return

June Yang
  • Rental Property Investor
  • California, CA
Posted Oct 15 2014, 14:14

Hello, I'm new to bigger pockets, but not new to real estate investing. I have been investing in real estate since late 90's, primary in VA (NOVA, DC area) and CA (SF bay area). I'll share some of my experiences and pose my question in this post.

Past experiences

When i first started in 98, 99, i was able to buy condo/townhouse in NOVA area at around 2% return (based on gross rent and before expenses monthly).  Over the years, the real estate prices have gone up, but rental hasn't gone up at the same rate.  For example, in 99, i was renting 2/2 in reston for $1200, almost 15 years later, the rent for 2/2 is around $1500.  In the mean time, property prices has gone up several fold.  These days i'm lucky to find a property that could yield 0.9% return.  I'm looking to expand into other areas in the US that may be more favorable.  

My criteria

Here's my criteria, it's a fairly long list as i'm pretty particular on what i'm looking for.  

1. 0. Growth area with good economics and growing industries.  
  2. 1. B or better neighborhood.  I want to good, trouble free tenants.  
  3. 2. 1.5% return monthly.
  4. 3. Minimum rehab since i'll be managing it remotely.
  5. 4. I have $300k to invest, obviously in the same property, and i can get loans.
  6. 5. SFR preferred, but would be open to condo, townhouse, MFR.
  7. 6. Minimum property value over $150k per piece.  I don't want to deal with $50k property.  

If you know any areas that meet my criteria, i love to hear from you. Such a area may not exist, in which i'll look for alternative investment in other forms.

Why minimum property value?