Skip to content
Buying & Selling Real Estate

User Stats

Votes
Mark K.
  • New York, NY
Votes |
Is it worth it to pursue an Appraiser Trainee license?

Mark K.
  • New York, NY
Posted Feb 18 2015, 19:51

Hello, I am brand new to REI, at this point a little over a month in. I've been researching and networking like crazy in the last month and what I'm beginning to realize is that everything starts and ends with comps/numbers. As they say, "you make your money when you buy."

To start, I think my strategy will be to invest in multi-property units and then eventually try my hand at flipping or wholesaling. I have no relevant experience in real estate and want to get to the point where I see a property and can say, this is worth X if you fix A, B, and C (basically ARV).

It got me thinking, why not go for an Appraiser Trainee license. Properly appraising a property is a valuable asset in any form of REI. There is an online course I can take for roughly $700, totaling 60 hours. All in all, investing in yourself is never a bad thing. However, it leads me to a few questions below...

• Is comps/appraising just a matter of experience and getting out into the field and seeing properties for myself?
  • Is there enough free resources online and on BP to figure out comps/appraising for myself or do I really need real world experience?
  • If you were starting out, is this something you would do?
  • I feel like I have a solid understand of the REI concepts and fundamentals, I felt like practicing on comps was the next logical step to take, should I be doing something else or am I on the right path?

Any feedback would be greatly appreciated!

FYI, for your reference below is a description of both courses I've been looking at.

Basic Appraisal Principles