Votes
Andre Rosemberg
  • Culver City, CA
Votes |
I'm looking to make my first deal in Rochester NY I need advice

Andre Rosemberg
  • Culver City, CA
Posted May 22 2015, 18:46

Hi, I'm brand new to BP but I've already logged several hours reading through threads and getting some education.

I'm from Los Angeles and have always wanted to get started in REI. I recently bought my second home (still in escrow) and am in the process of fixing up my existing house to rent. And then something unexpected happened... I was offerred a ridicuous sum of money for a building I own for my business. I couldn't refuse that deal and now I'm in escrow to sell that building.

I'm looking to do a 1031 exchange and I'm going to profit $215,000 from the sale of the building.  Talking to my attorney it, sounds like I need to purchase $550,000 to do a 1031 exchange (the building sold for $1.1 million but I own it 50% with my brother).

My goal is to purchase a property or properties to return $80,000 NOI from the purchase of $550,000 in investment properties. In Los Angeles that is a bad joke, but it seems like this may be possible in Rochester.

Rochester has always been on my radar.  I've been there once, to Pittsford and it looks like a nice town.  But I've since learned Pittsford is a nice town and that isn't where I will likely be investing to get the kind of income I want.  Plus I'm in the printing business and I've paid out over $2 million to Xerox in the last decde.  As a result I hate Xerox and it would make the universe cosmically in balance if I get income back from the Rochester area. 

Seriously though, I need some help here.  For instance, I've talked to one guy in particular from loopnet who advertises 25% cap rate and then on the phone he's sort of like "well.. you know... it's more like 18%"  Don't get me wrong, 18% cap rate is amazing, but why lie about something so fundamental on loopnet then tell me something else on the phone? What else is not accurate?