Buying & Selling Real Estate

User Stats

Votes
Matthew Mueller
Pro Member
  • Rental Property Investor
  • Hoboken, NJ
Votes |
Some experience in RE, but branching out, nonresident, buying RE in TN, form LLC in TN, or big 3 States, or not at all?

Matthew Mueller
Pro Member
  • Rental Property Investor
  • Hoboken, NJ
Posted Oct 5 2012, 11:45

I apologize if this issue has already been explained, and also for the length of this post. I searched all over the forums and found a few mentions but nothing comprehensive. I have also been reading for a few months general ideas on BP and still can't come up with a best strategy.

Bottom line: I have some experience in LLCs and real estate, am a resident of PA and have a partnership LLC with MFH there, but I need some advice for a new venture.

I am interested in expanding on my own, ideally to look for SFH in a few southern markets, namely in TN, GA, and possibly TX, in that order. My current PA partner would not be involved.

My questions are really about TN. Having attempted to study strategy for a while on this subject, it is looking more and more like setting up an LLC in TN is a bad idea because of the 6.5% franchise tax.

It is looking like going the DBA route is ideal, but I don't really understand the mechanics of it, in terms of whether or not to use my SSN for the 'entity' since I understand there could be significant liability involved.