BiggerPockets

Seeking An Answer To An Impossible Situation

Forum Powered By:

9 posts by 4 users

To participate in forum discussions, create a free account or login.

Karen Paul

New Orleans, Louisiana

Feb 23 '13, 11:32 AM

What are some possibilities for securing financing now for a $499,000 house with the following "obstacles"...

1. I just filed bankruptcy;
2. I am a physician who has taken time off to raise a young child. I have a new employment contract in hand and will be making $350,000/year, but I will not start this new position for three months;
3. My fiance makes $63,000/year. His credit is average (~640);
4. The homeowner is unwilling to do a lease/purchase.

I'm looking for a solution now because I do not think that this particular house will remain on the market for very long.

Bill G.

Real Estate Investor from Springfield, Missouri

Feb 23 '13, 12:23 PM

Welcome to BP Karen!

Actually, with that contract in hand, you could qualify for conventional financing if it had not been for the BK. So that' the problem, not past employment as you can address that with good reason.

What's the cash on hand picture look like?

Is here an exiting loan with the seller of is it free and clear?

Since you are not married, we may start with doing the deal in his name only.

Talk to a bank about a portfolio loan in his name and you sign as a guarantor, not a borrower, I suggest a smaller bank. While his credit is not o hot, there is a compensating factor with you as a guarantor based on your expected income. Since you are not a borrower, your credit is less important and technically should not breach bank policy.

What is the seller willing to do, anything besides a cash sale?

You may need a straw-man deal, if you can get a better price another buyer can purchase and then flip it to you.