• Investor
  • Newport Beach, CA
Votes |
Should I Buy Apartment Building or more SRF - Interest Rate Fears

Leonard L.
  • Investor
  • Newport Beach, CA
Posted Mar 3 2015, 13:24

OK, I have built portfolio of SFR, duplex, triplex income producing properties, and I have been thinking of making the jump to buying apartment buildings. I listened to Grant Cardone's podcast and I like the idea of scale and easy financing of apartment buildings. Say I have another $500k to put into acquisitions - should I make the jump to buying apartments, or stick with SFR type properties?

Two words give me pause when considering making the jump to apartment buildings -- INTEREST RATES.

As a real estate lawyer, I have seen several of my clients get very, very rich buying apartments.  In virtually every case, they rode interest rates and cap rates down, which has a massively positive impact on value.  It almost goes without saying that cap rates have massive impact on value, but look at this example to see just how massive.

If you buy an apartment with $100k net annual cash flow at a 7% cap rate, and then cap rate decline to 4%, the asset you acquired for $1.42M increases in value to $2.5M without ever raising rents one penny.   So if you leveraged yourself and bought a portfolio of apartment buildings while cap rates are going down, voila, you are very wealthy.

Cap rates and interest rates are at historic lows for apartments, and it seems likely both will increase in future.  But research shows the correlation between cap and interest rates is imperfect, so lets assume over my projected five year hold interest rates go up but cap rates stay at these historic lows.  

Interest rates have almost as dramatic an impact on value as cap rates.