• Schaumburg, IL
Votes |
The Truth About Lending: Part 1

Zack Karp
Pro Member
  • Lender
  • Schaumburg, IL
Posted Jul 9 2015, 15:07

Hi BP family!  I have been reading and absorbing lots of fantastic info from this great community, and I have learned a lot from you all.  Time for me to give back.

A quick story about me, I love real estate.  I just love it.  Everything about it.  From walking through a property, to buying it, to owning it, to financing it, to selling it....every property is different, every person is different, and so it will never be the same thing twice and it never gets old.

My primary business is that I have been a residential loan originator for the past 17 years. I have been a broker, correspondent, and worked directly for a major bank. I have owned my own company, and I have been just a loan officer. So I have been on all sides of Conventional, FHA, VA, and Subprime lending (back in the day).

I have been reading many posts and replies here on BP, and it seems that many people really do not understand what can and cannot be done with lending (which is expected), and while most people are giving great info, some are not.  So I wanted to write an unbiased thread about the truth, and if there is enough interest, I will continue to provide as much info and new topics as I can.

Part 1 of this series is going to be called "Overlays". What is an overlay you ask? An overlay is a lender imposing their own guidelines on top of the actual guidelines from Fannie/Freddie/FHA, etc. Many banks & lenders do this to protect their risk in lending to borrowers. Why? Well there are many reasons, but mostly financial (isn't everything driven by money?). These overlays allow for the lender to write only the highest quality loans, which in turn can help their profits, stock, default percentage, etc.