BiggerPockets

Business LOC - does a newbie have a chance?

Forum Powered By:

16 posts by 9 users

To participate in forum discussions, create a free account or login.

Karin DiMauro

Rehabber from East Lyme, Connecticut

Dec 13 '12, 08:13 PM

Hello - a friend suggested tonight that my business partner and I apply for a Business LOC with a local bank and is connecting me with a person there to speak with. I'm concerned, however, about whether we have a chance at qualifying.

My partner's LLC has been in existence a long time but she wasn't very active the past 2 years and is essentially coming out of retirement to do rehabs full-time (a r.e. broker, she used to primarily list properties while doing a few investments here and there). Thus, there isn't much to show in the way of assets for the LLC. As for me, I'm pretty new to the rehab business so I understand I still have a lot to prove.

However, my partner's personal credit is 810 and she has equity on her personal home (about 60k). And the project we have under contract - the one for which we'd use the LOC - has good numbers. We'd look for a maximum of 150k, which includes purchase price and a chunk of the rehab, and the ARV is 250k. Hell, we'd be happy with anything the bank could provide for a LOC b/c it would still be cheaper than hard money and private money!

What else do I need to know? What else will the bank want for info, and what can we do to make our case?

Thanks!

Bryan Hancock

Real Estate Investor from Round Rock, Texas

Dec 13 '12, 08:22 PM

The bank will likely care more about collateral. Do either of you have free and clear assets to pledge for the line? If you do I think your chances are probably good. If you don't I think it will be much harder.

Medium_inner10_logo__updated_Bryan Hancock, Inner 10 Capital
E-Mail: [email protected]
Telephone: 1-800-577-0401
Our Recent Austin Business Journal Article - http://tinyurl.com/Inner10Capital

Karin DiMauro

Dec 13 '12, 08:59 PM