BiggerPockets

Interest Only Loans: Pros & Cons

Forum Powered By:

5 posts by 4 users

To participate in forum discussions, create a free account or login.

Kyle Pettit

Real Estate Investor from Raymond, Washington

Feb 11 '13, 09:55 PM

Hi Folks, I'm fairly new to RE investing and wanted some input on using interest only mortgages/loans. I currently have 3 properties under contract. Two of the properties I plan to sell within 1-3 years. The third is a duplex unit that will cash flow nicely so I will likely hold that property longer. I'm contemplating doing interest only mortgages on the other two properties to maximize cash flow and stock pile some capital for my next purchase. Are there any downsides to this strategy that I may not be aware of?

Thanks!

Kyle Pettit, Freedom Property Solutions, LLC
E-Mail: [email protected]
Telephone: 360-861-6067
Kyle Pettit Freedom Property Solutions, LLC [email protected] 360-861-6067

Joel Owens Moderator

Real Estate Investor from Canton, Georgia

Feb 11 '13, 10:20 PM

If the local market corrects or you need to dump quick you will be overleveraged with no principal pay down.

How much extra cash flow are you getting with the interest only loans per month per property?? Does the loan mature in just a few years?? I know you are planning on 1 to 3 years but situations change and what if you want to hold them. Now years later you have refi costs and most likely higher debt service with a higher interest rate.

Don't talk yourself into a deal with special financing.

Medium_allworldrealtyJoel Owens, All World Realty
Telephone: 678-779-2798
www.AWcommercial.com 678-779-2798 [email protected]

William Bannister

Commercial Landlord from Oshkosh, Wisconsin

Feb 11 '13, 10:25 PM

A few glaring down sides. The 1st if rates go up and its not likely they can do that immediately but they will in a bit and when they do who knows how fast they will go up.