• Miami, FL
Votes |
Career Change Ideas

Luis Lopez
  • Personal Financial Coach and Investor
  • Miami, FL
Posted Dec 9 2014, 14:14

Hello all:

I've been sinking my head into this REI world for the past 3 months trying to find ways to earn more money on the side. Not sure if this happens to all newbies and/or of this is just a typical reaction to something new, but I am HOOKED! I'm so hooked that my productivity at my full-time job has taken a nose-dive; I shouldn't even be on BP right now. The Creative Finance aspects and obviously being in charge of your own destiny is what intrigues me about real estate.

I'm so sunk in that I'm actually exploring the thought of changing careers/jobs to something where I can leverage my experience and also learn more about any and all aspects of REI. So my questions to the community is, what kind of jobs are out there for what I'm seeking based on the below information about me.

Me (current):

• 10+ years in corporate finance & accounting; The most recent 2 have been in project management (hybrid between finance & IT) in the healthcare field
  • Bachelor in Finance, Graduate Certificate in Accounting, and Master in MIS (Management Information Systems)
  • My strengths are working with people, numbers, Excel, and automating systems and processes
  • Between working more than 40 hours, a 3 year-old and a 8 month-old, I barely have any time to dedicate to REI. And when I do, I feel guilty either taking time away from work or my family. (I actually do stay up in the wee hours but it's not enough) Hence, the reason I want to change careers

Where I want to be:

• Like most newbies, I jumped right in to wholesaling.  I haven't closed a deal yet but have gotten two under contract in the 2 months I've been doing this and the little time I have (spent one month just soaking in material) . By taking action, I learned a ton including that: