• Investor
  • Fort Lauderdale, FL
Votes |
An interesting repair...with all the twists and turns

Sam Leon
  • Investor
  • Fort Lauderdale, FL
Posted Dec 14 2013, 07:48

I am an engineer by trade and sometimes out of curiosity, I look where I shouldn't have, and this had in the past lead me to some big headaches.

So I have this condo vacant and went around and did a bunch of repairs and I left the last item alone because I hated hated doing it. Which is to fix a slow draining bathtub. I knew I would be pulling other's hair balls out of the drain and it's the #1 thing I absolutely hate. I left it as my favorite last thing to do.

While I removed the bath drain and cleaned it, I decided that it's a good time to change it to a lift and turn style instead of the pop up linkage. The hardest part would be if the old drain wouldn't unthread from the shoe below due to corrosion but I was able to get it out without too much elbow grease. A trip to a nearby plumbing supply, a new lift and turn, some putty, done in 15 minutes.

Now, the lever of the old linkage is still on the overflow. I thought about just leaving that alone, but didn't want to have the next tenant tell me the lever "doesn't work", so I decided to change it to a plain overflow cover. BIG MISTAKE? LOL.

I removed the two screws holding the overflow cover plate, and as I did that and removed the cover I saw the overflow pipe behind the tub literally fell off. FELL OFF, as in disappearing into the wall cavity! So what do you do in this case? Laugh or cry?

I need to somehow get access to the tub drain tee behind the tub. But I don't see a clear solution. Here is a picture.

The tub is on the right. As you can see, no way to access from the front, as it's all tiled.