BiggerPockets

Separate Bank Account for Rental Activities?

Forum Powered By:

13 posts by 8 users

To participate in forum discussions, create a free account or login.

S Yu

Multi-family Investor from

Jul 12 '10, 11:12 PM

Hi all

I'm closing on my first property today a 3-family unit. I was wondering if I should set up another personal bank account for all activities. I'm going to be depositing my checks and if there are repairs I'm going to take it out of this account.

I will also be paying the mortgage from this account and if I am short, I'm going to transfer money from another account.

Is this a good idea and what does everyone do? I'm just starting out. Thanks

J Scott Moderator Donor

Real Estate Investor from Ellicott City, Maryland

Jul 12 '10, 11:21 PM
2 votes

Are you planning to create a business entity out of which you with either hold and/or manage this property?

If so, set up a separate business account. If you ever get sued and want to use the business as a legal shield, having a separate business account that doesn't co-mingle with your personal funds will be important when it comes to the determination of whether what you have is a business or a personal hobby (though there are certainly lots of other aspects of this you need to investigate as well).

If you don't plan to create a business entity, then the only purpose I can think of for a separate account would be to help you manage and track your income and expenses. If you don't need a separate account for that purpose, it just boils down to personal preference.

Medium_lishproplogoJ Scott, Lish Properties, LLC
E-Mail: [email protected]
CHECK OUT MY BIGGERPOCKETS BOOKS: http://www.biggerpockets.com/flippingbook

Steve Smithy

Jul 12 '10, 11:26 PM

Create a business, and have a separate bank account for that business. Create a business! Create a business! Create a business!