• Wichita, KS
Votes |
Military Tenants -all trouble? - Facing 1st eviction in 12 yrs

Shane H.
Pro Member
  • Investor
  • Wichita, KS
Posted Mar 19 2018, 23:05

I'm far from an expert landlord/investor - but I think I moved on from newbie a few years ago as well.

I've had a handful of rentals since 2006 - never more than 10 doors while holding down a full time job - until last fall I've handled all my leasing, showings, etc.  Have been trying to expand my thinking and outsource so for the first time I gave up leasing and let someone else handle it for me when my wife and I purchased our business and were needing to relocate 2 hours away.  So we decided in lieu of selling our house we'd rent it.

It was kind of a hybrid situation with the PM - we'd spent some time developing a relationship - she managed a large 200-300 unit apartment complex and was the head PM there - she was familiar with the tenant as he'd rented at her apt complex for 2-3 years with no problems.  I think he's a Sgt E5 - has a tech type job in logistics or for all I know he flys a drone and blows people up all day as we have some sort of tech center where they do that on the local Airbase.  I met him - he seemed like a good guy - I end up leasing to him.

He has a good reference from the person I'm going to partner with on property management and since I was moving out of town agreed to lease to him, he's older military - so despite the fact I've been screwed over by 3 other military families years before I go against my better judgement and decide to rent to him.  I never meet the rest of his family but he has a young 5-6 yr old or so son with him when he looks at the house and they seem good - I'm told his 19yo daughter will live with him until she gets on her feet and gets on her own (was led to believe it would be short term) - then another young 10yr old or so boy and his tenants newlywed wife (he was getting remarried in his 40's).