BiggerPockets

LLC or trust?

Forum Powered By:

39 posts by 11 users

To participate in forum discussions, create a free account or login.

K C

Apr 01 '11, 01:27 AM

I am new to real estate and rentals. I bought a duplex last year in July and it's rented out now. I am wanting to know about LLC and trusts. I was wanting to make an LLC, but someone who is a landlord here said to just put the property into a trust because it is cheaper and provides the same protection as an LLC. Then another landlord told me not to bother with LLC or trusts because they only provide a false sense of protection because I can still be sued personally regardless.

I live in KY. Could someone help me understand what the difference is in protection via LLC or trusts? Do I need one, both, neither?

I'm wanting to buy more property and I want to make sure I have this figured out beforehand.

Also, can I file my own paperwork for LLC and/or trusts or do I have to consult with a lawyer? I would prefer to file my own if I can.

I currently do have home insurance for landlords through Allstate.

Ryan ODonnell

Real Estate Investor from Westchester, Illinois

Apr 01 '11, 01:54 AM

Education generally teaches to put rental property in an LLC or series LLC because then they are treated as a company and you can't be held personally liable.
My accountant is encouraging me to put properties in our personal name into Trusts. I am in the process of finding out about that as well because with these issues you seem to get a different answer from everyone you talk to.
As far as doing it yourself, depending on your state it is usually cheaper to do it yourself, but be sure you have all the details and such you need in your operating agreement. This is the area where your lawyer may be worth the money to understand your situation, what you want to do in the future and tailor it to that.

George P.

Real Estate Investor from Baltimore, Maryland

Apr 01 '11, 01:58 AM
1 vote

Originally posted by K C: