BiggerPockets

% interest to charge for Land Contract

Forum Powered By:

38 posts by 12 users

To participate in forum discussions, create a free account or login.

Nick M.

Real Estate Investor from Sterling Heights, Michigan

Feb 24 '13, 06:07 PM

A tenant is interested in buying the house he is renting from me via Land Contract. I have not done this before and would like some opinions on what to look for and how to set up the payment?

I am curious what common interest rates should be charged for a land contract - Credit is not the best, they cannot apply for a mortgage so I will finance. Is 6% too low, 9% too high? What about the price of the house? Should I charge a higher price because of the risk I am taking with selling it on Land Contract?

Should I be cautious and collect money for insurance and taxes any pay it myself of let them pay it and I will only collect interest and principal?

Any thoughts are appreciated...as you can see I am new to this and maybe some of these questions are trivial but trying to be on the safe and legal side.

Thanks in advance.

Rob Gillespie

Wholesaler from Valley City, Ohio

Feb 24 '13, 06:13 PM

Nick,
I would do a Lease with an option to purchase on two separate docs.
A land contract could require a foreclosure to get the buyers out. A lease Option is usually an eviction. Plus the tax consequences for a land contract are not as sexy for you like a lease Option.
Now with that said, if you are gonna ignore me and still want to do a land contract, I would charge 18%. That is what I charge when I lend money. It is all about the availability of the financing, not the cost.
If they are not happy with it, tell them that rent is 100% rent, you are saving them 82% on your program.
Good luck!!

Nick M.

Feb 24 '13, 06:24 PM