Skip to content
Real Estate Deal Analysis & Advice

User Stats

Votes
Joshua Berube
  • Contractor
  • victoria, bc
Votes |
building a fourplex as my first deal. trial by fire.

Joshua Berube
  • Contractor
  • victoria, bc
Posted Oct 27 2014, 19:28

Well, as the title says I am going to try an build a fourplex. And its my first deal. This will be my diary. Come hell or high water, you will have a front row seat.

Before we get into the deal, understand that I am going to consider this a diary so I will put almost all of my thoughts on what I am doing and it might get a little.. verbose. then again, maybe it won't! really, I have no idea since I have never done anything like this before,

Okay, so before everyone freaks out, I work in construction and have run crews before, I can read prints, and do layout but my experience lies in condo construction and I frame with steel as opposed to wood. I have done wood frame before and though I cant claim to be any good at it, I know enough that I know what I don't know, if that makes sense...

okay the property.

I live on Vancouver Island, in the city of Victoria, but am buying in Nanaimo, which is an hour and a half from where I live.

The property is zoned for a 4plex and currently has a little one bed one bath on it, the listed price was 199,000 with a city assessment of 151,100 (land value 134,000 and the house 17,100) . the lot is 9372 sq/ft and the house is 576sq/ft. super small.

I didn't think the property was worth anything close to what was being asked, but I called the agent anyway, and asked about the property. the agent said that the owner owed 180,000 and wasn't going to go any lower, but as the property had sat vacant for four months he wanted it gone. I know the property is not worth that now, but I think it might be in a year or two because of what is happening next year.