Stephanie Prader
  • Los Angeles, CA
Votes |
Anchorage to Baltimore Newb

Stephanie Prader
  • Los Angeles, CA
Posted Sep 4 2014, 22:05

Hi there!

I found BP a few months ago but since I knew I was moving I haven't introduced myself. I didn't wanna get caught up in the Anchorage market any more than I already am. I'm moving to Baltimore next week though so here's my introduction! The East Coast is my home and I've got a part-time job working for the organization I've been volunteering for the past 10 years lined up. Pretty excited for it even if it's only part-time! Although I've only been in Alaska for two years this is where I found the passion for real estate.

I've been trying to learn all I can. I started with reading Rich Dad, Poor Dad, and when they came to town I did their free event. I was super interested so yeah, I did the intensive paid weekend thing. At the time I didn't mind doing the paid seminar cause I was doing NOTHING and I wanted to do SOMETHING and just needed that push. It was very informative and put the fear in my heart over my sad retirement plan. '~'

I had always loved energy conservation, so that led me to REAP (Renewable Energy Alaska Project), which led me to ACHP (Alaska Craftsman Home Program) and their FREE classes to conserve energy and save money in the home. I loved all of those classes and just kept going back. Some I took more than once! The instructor is so great. I had recently friended a guy who did real estate investing and we started chatting about stuff I had learned in class. Then I started to work for him as his assistant. He's got a few buy and holds, vacation rentals, and just opened a hotel in Fairbanks. I do whatever he needs me to do from finding renters to cleaning to suing a contractor. Hah It's been an interesting year.