• Evansville, IN
Votes |
Newcomer from Southern Indiana

Nevin Ashley
Pro Member
  • Real Estate Investor
  • Evansville, IN
Posted Oct 31 2014, 08:37

Hello.  My name is Nevin Ashley, and I am what you all may call green at this game.  I am a professional baseball player and have been doing that for almost ten years now.  I want to start investing on the side so that when my playing days are done I have a fall back plan.  Now, when I say professional baseball, I'm not the guy on TV making multi millions.  I have bounced around three organizations and played the last five in triple A.  Baseball is more than a full-time job during the season but like now in my offseason I have ample time, in which I am investing in learning the ropes of real estate investing.  

I just wanted to take this time to take my first step to engaging with others and hopefully getting advice for someone who is just getting in. I have purchased a home before and sold one as well. Throughout the processes I engulfed myself in learning the ins and outs and also helped my in-law do the same with For Sale By Owner. I see this realm becoming a career and just want to learn all that I can. My goals are simply to just learn as much as I can in the near future, and purchase my first property before I leave for spring training. I recently went to a seminar with Flip Advantage and of course I fell in love with the idea of doing all this so "easily" as they make it sound and without my own money. I didn't jump when they said jump and researched and found BP. Since then I have been reading forums, listening to podcasts, and reading articles and books. I have set up a meeting with my realtor who is a great friend and very well known in this area, so I feel like I'm making progress, but would love advice from those who have been there. Is there something you wish you would have done, or make sure I do this before starting. Do I need to start up and LLC? You get the picture.