• Rental Property Investor
  • Garfield, NJ
Votes |
Newbie from Moonachie in Northern New Jersey

Sunny Burns
  • Rental Property Investor
  • Garfield, NJ
Posted Nov 26 2014, 13:59

Hello Biggerpockets Community! I’ve been listening to the BiggerPockets Podcasts for a little over a year now, and feel like it’s about time I interact on the forums and introduce myself. I am a recent college graduate of Stevens Institute of Technology and am now working full-time as a Mechanical Engineer at Picatinny Arsenal. I am very happily married to a wonderful elementary art teacher. We are both very interested in getting an early start towards our goal of financial freedom. We both like the idea of becoming buy and hold investors. Our goal is to buy a 3 or 4 multi-family property along RT.80 in North NJ by the spring. We are both smart with our finances and very good at living below our means. We’ve paid off our student loans, have no car payments, and live on the second floor of my parents house(We pay them rent and get along great). I feel we have finally saved enough to put 20% on our first Real Estate Investment Property. I am currently shopping around for a pre-approval, I think I will end up going with my Credit Union.

We both have no real-estate experience, but in preparation we have been listening to the biggerpockets podcasts on our commutes to work and have thus far read/reading:

-BiggerPockets Ultimate Beginners Guide

-ABC’s of Real Estate Investing

-The Richest Man in Babylon

-Millionaire Next Door

-Bigger Pockets Rewind

-Investing in Duplexes, Triplexes & Quads

-What Every Real Estate Investor Needs to Know about Cashflow

-NJ State’s “Buying a Home” guide(Great reading for a first-time home buyer)