Mike A.
  • Vancouver, BC
Votes |
Hello from Vancouver Canada

Mike A.
  • Vancouver, BC
Posted Mar 25 2015, 16:26

Hello Everyone!

My name is Mike and I'm from Vancouver, BC. I'm a designer, therapist and wholesaler(retail store items).

I've done a lot of the Guru stuff in the past. We usually get a troop of speakers up here, now more than ever.  I started with Russ Whitney Canada (now Kiyosaki owned) in 2001. Did all the bootcamps and blah blah blah. I used the information to garner a purchase of a split property (4 residential, 2 commercial) with absolutely no money by asking the owner for a VTB. It was a beautifully constructed deal. Alas, the accountant turned out to be a little shifty and the deal fell through. Not really what you want to feel right out of the gate.

All was not lost, I took a lot of the information that I had learned and started a retail and wholesale business, which was successful for a number of years.

Not knowing how to get back into real estate, a colleague told me about a number of free seminars coming to town in 2013.  I went to those and signed up for the 1st weekend classes at $197 a pop. One was Steve Martel, the other Fortune Builders.  Steve Martel was great, lots of info but mentor ship was around$50k. Fortune Builders, wow there were a lot of people there, around 400. Mentorship $20 - 50k. Having already gone through the Russ Whitney (ahem) program, I didn't sign up for these.

Fast forward, I came across Bigger Pockets via a random search and ... well ... wow. I watched Brandon's webinar and signed up.  Since then I've listened to all the podcasts at least a few times and gone through a number of the book suggestions.