• Investor
  • Stafford, VA
Votes |
New Member in Stafford, VA

Eddy Dumire
  • Investor
  • Stafford, VA
Posted May 25 2015, 09:18

I've been lurking for a while, reading blog posts, scanning the forums, and I've made it to podcast 88.  I figured it's time to introduce myself and start leveraging the forums to both help myself and others a little more rather than just feeding off the questions others have asked.  I'm a web applications programmer by trade and invest in real estate as a way to transition to a less stressful life.  My short term goal is to be making about $80k/year in passive income within 3 years.

My wife and I are buy and hold investors and currently own two properties in Stafford/Fredericksburg VA. My first was a SFD that I bought on homesearch.com. The house was a 3 level brick front with 4 beds and 3.5 baths. The property had lots of deferred maintenance. Our purchase price (including buyers premium) was 234k. The ARV at the time was estimated at $280,000. We put about 28k in repair costs and another 5k in holding costs. Yes, I overpaid for this one. Mortgage and HOA fees cost about $1200/month and we have a 3 year lease in place for $1900/month. I pretty much violate every rule there is from the 2% rule to the 50/50 rule to the 70% rule on this one.

I found labor for the first rehab on craigslist and this was a classic example of trying so hard to get the lowest cost labor that I spent twice as much money in the long run.  That story could fill an entire blog post so if I work my way into blogging I'll have some material to start with.