New Member Introductions

User Stats

Votes
Chris Collins
Pro Member
  • Multifamily Investor
  • Redondo Beach, CA
Votes |
Drummer from Los Angeles! Brand new investor interested in buy and hold Rental Income Properties

Chris Collins
Pro Member
  • Multifamily Investor
  • Redondo Beach, CA
Posted Jul 29 2015, 15:24

Hey there,

My name is Chris Collins, 33, from Los Angeles, CA.  Married with a 6 month old son.  I work in the TV industry as an editor, and also play drums in a few bands.  I make a pretty solid paycheck, but having a child and a wife who now stays home to be a mom, made me seriously re-evaluate where every dollar goes in our household.  

Over the past year I've been listening to a rental income podcast, reading some finance books, rich dad poor dad, etc. and together, my wife and I have decided to 'get into rental income real estate' as a plan for the long term to have passive income as we retire and not just rely on our savings.  Also to leave as a legacy to our son and other children if we have them.   *If only it were that easy.

The good: We have a good amount of money saved up to start using as down payments.  We have only 1 car payment. We rent our home now so we have very little 'debt.'

The bad: We live in LA, where home prices are sky high, and where tenants have all the power, and taxes are high.  So we want to invest 'elsewhere'.  But that is an extremely overwhelming notion, where to start?!

Also, we bought a condo in 2005, and short sold the condo in May 2012 (strategically, hired an attorney, from start to finish the process was 3 months, barely even missed any payments).  Which would be fine since the rule at the time was 'no loans for 2 years after a short sale' but now that has been switched to '4 years after a short sale' so we're taking the time to learn until we can get another loan I suppose.