• Interior Designer
  • Pittsburgh, PA
Votes |
New Member from Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania

Wendy Hoechstetter
  • Interior Designer
  • Pittsburgh, PA
Posted Aug 13 2015, 00:25

Hi, I'm Wendy Hoechstetter, recently transplanted back to my hometown from Mill Valley, CA (San Francisco Bay Area) after spending much more of my adult life there than here.  I moved back in no small part due to the accelerating real estate market here, where prices are still affordable.  My family has been here for multiple generations and has always been very involved in the area, including on the real estate front, so I have deep roots in and love for the place, and come by my interest in real estate honestly :-)

Professionally, I'm an interior designer specializing in high end residential design for successful, busy professionals, and aging-in-place/universal/accessible design, for those who either need it now or (preferably) want to plan ahead, just in case, knowing that at least 68% of us will be disabled in some way eventually, or who know they have some health issues for which they know they will eventually need to make some modifications to their homes if they want to continue to live there.  I also make jewelry, which I will also eventually be selling, along with selling vintage and other fun statement pieces.

Real estate-wise, I've bought and sold one house, my own residence in Mill Valley, and was fortunate enough to do quite well with it even after several remodels, selling it well above asking price, for all cash, in less than a week on the market, with five viable backup offers, also all above asking.  Staging well and adopting the mindset that it is no longer your home but a commodity to be marketed really help!