BiggerPockets

Real-Estate agent compensation?

19 posts by 11 users

To participate in forum discussions, create a free account or login.

Reginald Smith Jr

Real Estate Investor from Manning, South Carolina

Mar 26 '12, 11:01 AM

Hello again all! For those who do not know, I'm a newbie wholesaler here in SC. and I'm in the process of building my investment team. A local realtor here has informed me that she has some experience working with investors and as a result I will be meeting with her later this week. Herein leis my question; Other than the commonly small commission that she will receive from a few of my normally very low accepted offers, what other incentives do I have (as a wholesale investor) to offer an agent for the giving of their valuable time and expertise in helping me to comp anywhere from 5 to 20+ possible deals per month with most of them being FSBO's.

Thanks in advance for all of your valuable time and expertise.
Reg. Jr.

Rob Gillespie

Wholesaler from Valley City, Ohio

Mar 26 '12, 12:25 PM
1 vote

Reginald,
That is cool you wanna offer more up, but be cautious.They typically will not take any coin outside of closing that they do not split with their broker.

Just the fact that you are buying a lot of properties should be enough to keep em motivated!

Danny Day

Real Estate Investor from Houston, Texas

Mar 26 '12, 12:34 PM
2 votes

Lunches, and referral business works great!

Reginald Smith Jr

Mar 26 '12, 01:25 PM

Hey thanks for the info and suggestions guys. And Danny the lunch and referrals tip is just awesome. It's simple and affordable! Oh and did I mention "affordable"? lol...

Robert Lett

Real Estate Investor from Cheyenne, Wyoming

Mar 26 '12, 01:48 PM
1 vote

I have bought gifts for the agents I use from time to time. It all depends on how much help they give and how many commission they get.
I know if you pay them directly, they have to give it to the agency, and I don't even think they personally receive 30% of it.