BiggerPockets

New member from Southern Oregon!

Forum Powered By:

12 posts by 10 users

To participate in forum discussions, create a free account or login.

Alyssa C.

Central Point, Oregon

Feb 05 '13, 08:52 PM
1 vote

Hello everyone!

I am new to BiggerPockets so I thought I'd introduce myself!

I am from Palmdale, CA, and attended California State University, Chico where I received a degree in graphic design. Upon graduating, I moved to Southern Oregon where I have been gaining experience in graphic design, web design and marketing for the past 3 years.

About a month ago, my boyfriend drug me to a 1-hour Rich Dad event where they sold us on a $199 3-day seminar. We attended the seminar this past weekend and learned a ton! We are both sold on the idea of investing in real estate and are willing to do what it takes to be successful. While it was tempting to pay for Rich Dad's advanced education, we turned it down because while we are convinced that this is the road we want to take, we understand that it will NOT be easy and it is not a "qet rich quick" solution. Since we have made peace with that, we are ready to move forward!

Currently, we are trying to figure out which path we want to start down first. Wholesaling looked like the best option at first glance, but since my boyfriend has his real estate license, it looks like that is not going to be the path for us together while we are in Oregon, though it is still an option for me completely alone. Bird dogging could be okay, except we heard that a lot of new investors give up quick on this because they don't have anything invested. This leaves us with flipping. While I have a very little amount in my savings right now that I'm not willing to lose, I do have $15-$20k available in credit. Credit is not my first option, so we're researching ways to creatively finance. I have a full-time job that I commute to M-F, so this will be something I can commit my time to on evenings and weekends.