• Rental Property Investor
  • Mercer Island, WA
Votes |
AbSheild chinese drywall remediation

Jon Holdman
  • Rental Property Investor
  • Mercer Island, WA
ModeratorPosted Oct 28 2009, 16:44

In another thread where someone was looking for properties with Chinese drywall, a company called AbSheild was mentioned as having a remediation process for this drywall. I looked at this company and their claims.

Disclaimer: I have a degree in Chemistry, among others, but have no inside information or real data about their products of the results. I'm just looking at their web site.

Their claim is: "The method proposed to neutralize the result of residual off-gassing involves the application of absorbent materials in the form of activated organic powders and coatings (solids)." They do this by injecting a powder material into the gaps between studs in interior walls to coat the inside of the sheetrock and by applying a two-layer coating to the exposed side. They claim these materials absorb the gasses emitted by the drywall. They mention "sulfur based off-gassing" and claim the materials absorb the "gas itself and associated odors".