BiggerPockets

Kitchen floor ceramic tile looks uneven in places. what do i do?

Forum Powered By:

6 posts by 6 users

To participate in forum discussions, create a free account or login.

Stephen N.

Accountant from greenwell springs, Louisiana

Feb 27 '10, 02:25 AM

ok, so I'm a rookie at this so do laugh at me for asking this.

I am trying to fix up a house to flip and the tile in the kitchen floor that was laid looks uneven in places. the lines are all strait but some of the tiles are higher than others.

My question is this. Is this something that can be fixed one tile at a time?

Edited Jun 26 2010, 11:50

Christopher Davis Donor

Real Estate Investor from St. Louis, Missouri

Feb 27 '10, 02:43 AM

Hey Stephen

I hate to be the bearer of bad news but to make it right you probably need to start over. Was this tile already there or did you lay it? Curious if there is any underlayment .

Chris D

Edited Jun 26 2010, 11:50

Shanti S.

Real Estate Investor from Central, Massachusetts

Feb 27 '10, 04:05 AM

IF you can match the tile perfectly and IF there are only a couple out of whack you may be able to remove them, grind down the thinset, and put new tiles in their place at the same level as the surrounding ones. Even then, matching the grout so the repair is invisible would probably be a challenge.

I'd probably make everything else look good and the buyers may not notice - they're busy picturing their stuff and their life in the house, you're looking at every little construction detail.

I was pretty unhappy with my contractor's latest tile job in the bathrooms but no buyers ever noticed a thing.

Edited Jun 26 2010, 11:51 by Shanti S.

John Harvey

Architect from Hillsborough, North Carolina

Feb 27 '10, 04:10 AM

Stephen,