• Redding, CA
Votes |
Creating a note to sell my house

Aaron Nelson
  • Real Estate Investor
  • Redding, CA
Posted Jul 21 2014, 11:38

Hello,

I'm about to close escrow on a situation where I plan on creating a seller carry back note and then immediately selling the note after closing. I would appreciate feedback and opinions on if this was smart or a little crazy. Here are the details:

(My background is a real estate broker and currently doing mainly fix and flips)

In May of this year an old 1000sq. ft. fixer house on a nice 1.5 acre lot came on the market being sold by executor of estate. Listed for $125,000. I offered immediately and since there were no other offers I got under contract for $121,000 cash with a quick closing. The thing that was very interesting to me was that of the 1.5 acres, there were two APN's, one was the fixer on 1 acre and then a separate, flat build able .5 acre lot. I knew instinctively that the fixer house on 1 acre was essentially worth the same price even without the separate .5 acre lot. I figured that the separate lot could sell for $40,000 pretty realistically to a builder to build a spec home. It's an area of decent older homes and a new 1500 sq. ft. home would sell for $260,000. Also, I checked with city planning and they confirmed that the 1 acre lot with the house could easily be split into 2 half acre lots, creating another building lot with about $5,000 in survey and permit fees to create the lot. That lot would also be worth about $40,000. So I was potentially sitting on 3 properties that could each be conveyed separately.