Votes
Rob Padilla
  • Allen, TX
Votes |
Guru's, Sean Terry's Flip2Freedom and the people who hate them

Rob Padilla
  • Allen, TX
Posted May 3 2013, 12:27

I've been learning from Bigger Pockets for about two months now. I find it is by far the best place to come for expert information on Real Estate and it seems that there is no question I have that hasn't been answered on this website. With that being said, I'd like to address the "Guru" hatred on here and try to get some of you to see this from another point of view.

I am an autoworker employed by a major car manufacturer in Texas. I remember the day I found out I got hired. My dad (also an autoworker) was waiting for me in his driveway to tell me the news. He ran up to me excited and gave me a big hug and said "You hit the lottery!". We were so happy. $28 an hour, full benefits and a retirement package. Not bad for a 25 yr old kid from Youngstown, Oh. My uncle was in town that day to visit my mother. He was in the driveway watching this all go down. As I hugged my dad, I looked over his shoulder to see confusion on this mans face. In that moment I thought he was just being cold. You see, he's an MIT graduate, has his own consulting firm and, in my opinion at the time, a snob. Still, that picture has always been in my mind. Why did he look so confused?

Fast forward 14 years. I'm a grown man and my company is staring down bankruptcy. I may loose my job and I have no business skills. Off to college I go! The economy crashes and the reality of a middle aged man just finishing college and competing with a younger generation hits me like a brick. What do I do? I still have my job but now I realize how much I am at the mercy of this company. Without it, I am toast! I settle down and assess my situation. What skills do I have? What's my exit strategy if anything happens?