Skip to content
General Landlording & Rental Properties

User Stats

Votes
Jason Minnich
  • Investor
  • Milpitas, CA
Votes |
What would you do with this electric situation?

Jason Minnich
  • Investor
  • Milpitas, CA
Posted Apr 24 2014, 11:05

Hi everyone, So you might know me from my antics in California and Ohio where I own two long term buy and hold rentals. I live in the houses, I fix up what problems I see and generally try to make them tenant resistant. My father is an electrician with a municipality in Pennsylvania and so he has taught me a lot about that trade as well as picking up plumbing as a home owner and a landlord, so I have some decent background and knowledge. I am active duty military and as such move around a lot, and where it makes sense I buy my properties.

So I have most recently moved to Albuquerque, New Mexico, and due to the flux that is going on in the military I decided it wouldn't make sense to buy another house here but rather rent. I met a great landlord, my wife fell in love with the house, we put a deposit down sight unseen with just a video walk through and moved in a few weeks ago.

Things were looking up but when I plugged my computer equipment into the office they triggered that the outlet while 3 prong wasn't grounded. I looked and sure enough someone had put a 3 prong receptacle where there was 2 wire in the box, no ground. As my house in Ohio is old I knew how to deal with this there are three legal solutions, change the outlets back to 2 prong, replace them with GFCI outlets and then mark them as "no equipment ground", or rewire the entire thing (or if you can just run a ground wire). I called the landlord up and told her what I found and what I recommended, as well as how the current setup isn't legal but is safe.