Skip to content
Marketing Your Property

User Stats

Votes
Larry Turowski
  • Flipper/Rehabber
  • Rochester, NY
Votes |
Tell us about the one(s) that got away. Here are some of mine and lessons learned.

Larry Turowski
  • Flipper/Rehabber
  • Rochester, NY
Posted Jul 28 2014, 07:29

I'm fairly new to BP, but I think I'm hooked. This isn't marketing per se, but what good is marketing if you do not land the deal. Here are some that got away from me.  (The ordered list formatting doesn't seem to be working for me, so I am putting in my own bullet numbers.)

1. HUD property. 2009. Needed a very minor rehab, but I was new to investing, scared, and couldn't pull the trigger. LESSON: Be ready to pull the trigger. You get ready by educating yourself and, yes, making mistakes like this.

2. Wholesaler. 2009. Could have gotten a property for $21.5K that would have been worth $60K with a $20K rehab. LESSON: Same issue! It’s okay, there will be other deals. Keep getting educated—specifically on cost of rehab.

3. HUD property. 2009. Another one! I haven't done HUD in a while; I assume it still works the same way. You submit bids nightly and it is either accepted or rejected. Just because they don't accept your bid today, doesn't mean they won't tomorrow. I submitted (through my realtor) a bid for $52K, if I recall. Rejected. Submitted a couple more times and then stopped. I noticed one day they dropped the asking price to $50K! I figured, great, I'll offer $48K. Got outbid by someone who bid $50K. They flipped it after modest rehab for $130K!!! LESSON: Don't monkey around in a competitive situation. Make your best offer.

4.Bandit sign lead. Saw house and made an offer. Seller wanted to think about it over the weekend. Then sold to someone else that weekend. LESSON: Close the deal! Try to figure out what the objection is and what will help the seller overcome that objection.