Skip to content
Marketing Your Property

User Stats

Votes
John Crandell
  • General Contractor
  • Maple Falls, WA
Votes |
Possibly entering a partnership, what is the usual arrangment?

John Crandell
  • General Contractor
  • Maple Falls, WA
Posted Aug 26 2015, 23:38

I am a general contractor in the NW, been struggling to find my first rehab because of the usual problems: funding, availability, the usual stuff for first timers as myself. When I first moved in the area I met a number of individuals in the realtor field, some of which have gotten a number of flips under their belt. These are the guys I want to learn from, and I told them so if there was anything I could do to make it worth their while to work with me on a flip. Time passes by, always being in contact will all my new acquaintances, one of the guys tells me of a house he would like to work with me on. We look at it, we both see that possibly some money can be made on it (still need to to a feasibility report on it, to see if it really is). From there a rough draft of a partnership is drawn up. Even though this house may fall through, getting a working relationship going with a realtor/investor is a far cry from where I was a week ago. 

It is written in plain english, reading it over I am concerned over just one part. It was written while we met at a local coffee house, I was watching/reading as he was writing. Most of it is easily agreeable. Before I get to the part that concerns me, here is the bulk of the partnership.

There is still debate on whether to create a new LLC or use my LLC for the purchase of the property. I think a new LLC is in order.