• Investor
  • Richland, WA
Votes |
First time property analysis in Richland, WA

Sam McPeek
  • Investor
  • Richland, WA
Posted Nov 25 2014, 07:53

I’m looking for some help in evaluating a deal that I looked at this last weekend in my home town of Richland, WA. After running the numbers, I don’t think this would be a good deal at the current price, but I want to run the numbers by you guys to make sure that my analysis is correct...and to also see if you all agree with the price that I believe would make it a good deal. I’m still learning and I think this would be the best way to learn and ensure that my property analysis muscles are tip top...

Property & Condition

The property is a 4-plex with (2)- 3/1’s and (2)- 2/1’s with covered parking for 4 cars. The overall square footage for the building is 4,300...but I did not get the footage on each of the units (still learning, right?). I would guess that the 2 bedrooms are 850 sq. ft. and the 3 bedrooms are 1050 sq. ft., with the remainder going to storage and shared laundry space. It was built in 1972, has central HVAC with separate heat pumps for each unit. Two of the heat pumps are updated and two of them are original (need to be replaced within 3 years). Each unit is metered separately for electric, but water is paid by the owner. Overall the property is in great condition with 2 of the units having been remodeled, while the other 2 have newish carpet. This is a “turn-key” building that would not need remodeling, and could be updated as vacancies come up.

Rental History