• Austin, TX
Votes |
Vacant Home Rehab Possibility

Jonathan Simpkins
  • Real Estate Investor
  • Austin, TX
Posted Jan 5 2014, 09:35

Hello all!

Allow me to introduce myself: my name is Jonathan, I am new to BiggerPockets and very new to RE investing as well. I have only been doing my own research online and reading for a couple of months, and I have learned a lot. Of course there is still a lot to learn, and I have opportunities presenting themselves in my reality. The most exciting one (at least to me) is a property I know know to have been vacant for at least two years. I have some questions and I am asking for any help, advice, etc this community can give me!

The property was vacated a few years ago when the previous owner died. The house is in pretty poor shape, and is still full of the previous owner's things, even her car is still in the driveway. I have inspected the property (from the exterior only) personally, and happen to know that it is or was occupied by a vagrant and has some nastiness inside. Lots of broken windows and soiled floors, and likely structural/foundation issues as it was built in the 1920's. According to the county appraisal district website, the current owner is a relative who lives in another city about 8 hours away. From my own research it seems she is in her mid 90's. According to the county clerk's office, the deed is a "Special Warranty Deed."