• Investor
  • Atlanta, GA
Votes |
DO NOT USE STATE FARM - PRIVACY BREACH and INCOMPETENCE

Ben Bakhshi
  • Investor
  • Atlanta, GA
Posted Aug 6 2014, 18:06

TL;DR: State Farm just gave me full access to my uncle's State Farm account without his permission or knowledge. We have no assets in common, except we share names, partially (he is Ben, I go by Benjamin). I can see/edit 8 of his various policies that I have nothing to do with. They "cannot find my user ID" and I now have to wait for a ticket to be resolved in order to access my own account information.

I have been using State Farm for a couple of years on several homes that we have insured in Georgia. I also have a credit card with them. They have continuously had a very poor online experience, ridden with errors on their part. I have stayed with them because I was too lazy to change numerous policies. 

They 'lost' my username/password, and upon calling customer support, they logged me into my uncle's account.

Here is what happened today:

• I just tried to login to pay a credit card payment, my password did not work. I tried this twice, because on the third time it blocks more attempts.
  • I clicked "retrieve password", but the system did not recognize my user id & birthdate combination.
  • I clicked "retrieve username" and received my username by email
  • The username was in fact the username that I attempted to login with.
  • I called customer support to repair access. They asked for my birthdate for verification, along with 3 security questions. That worked. They said they couldn't find my username (WHAT? You just emailed it to me). They asked if I wanted to use another username that they suggested, so I said OK. They gave me a temporary password.
  • I log into my account, the system asked me to change my password, done.