<?xml version="1.0" encoding="UTF-8"?><rss version="2.0" xmlns:content="http://purl.org/rss/1.0/modules/content/" xmlns:dc="http://purl.org/dc/elements/1.1/" xmlns:atom="http://www.w3.org/2005/Atom" xmlns:sy="http://purl.org/rss/1.0/modules/syndication/" > <channel><title>Comments on: Beware of Fake Credit Report Sites</title> <atom:link href="http://www.biggerpockets.com/renewsblog/2006/09/30/beware-of-fake-credit-report-sites/feed/" rel="self" type="application/rss+xml" /><link>http://www.biggerpockets.com/renewsblog/2006/09/30/beware-of-fake-credit-report-sites/</link> <description>Learn, Network, Invest</description> <lastBuildDate>Sat, 11 Feb 2012 16:57:56 +0000</lastBuildDate> <sy:updatePeriod>hourly</sy:updatePeriod> <sy:updateFrequency>1</sy:updateFrequency> <generator>http://wordpress.org/?v=3.3.1</generator> <item><title>By: Roger@Bensinkort</title><link>http://www.biggerpockets.com/renewsblog/2006/09/30/beware-of-fake-credit-report-sites/#comment-80762</link> <dc:creator>Roger@Bensinkort</dc:creator> <pubDate>Fri, 02 Apr 2010 15:23:08 +0000</pubDate> <guid isPermaLink="false">http://www.biggerpockets.com/renewsblog/2006/09/30/beware-of-fake-credit-report-sites/#comment-80762</guid> <description>This is a huge problem. I believe it is because most people dont know how to see if a site is safe or not.. A few tips to find out if the site you`re on is actually safe; as you want your information to be safe; look in the address bar. It should say &quot;https&quot; and not &quot;http&quot;. &quot;Http&quot;  means Hypertext Transfer Protocol while &quot;https&quot; means Hypertext Transfer Protocol Secure. Furthermore, look for the SSL secured site logo. It probably looks something like this.. http://us.gosupermodel.com/images/billing/safety/SSL_icon.jpg .-= Roger@Bensinkort&#180;s last blog ..&lt;a href=&quot;http://kredittkortsiden.net/bensinkort-365-privat-2&quot; rel=&quot;nofollow&quot;&gt;Bensinkort - 365 Privat Mastercard&lt;/a&gt; =-.</description> <content:encoded><![CDATA[<p>This is a huge problem. I believe it is because most people dont know how to see if a site is safe or not..<br /> A few tips to find out if the site you`re on is actually safe; as you want your information to be safe; look in the address bar. It should say &#8220;https&#8221; and not &#8220;http&#8221;. &#8220;Http&#8221;  means Hypertext Transfer Protocol while &#8220;https&#8221; means Hypertext Transfer Protocol Secure. Furthermore, look for the SSL secured site logo. It probably looks something like this.. <a href="http://us.gosupermodel.com/images/billing/safety/SSL_icon.jpg" rel="nofollow">http://us.gosupermodel.com/images/billing/safety/SSL_icon.jpg</a><br /> .-= Roger@Bensinkort&#180;s last blog ..<a href="http://kredittkortsiden.net/bensinkort-365-privat-2" rel="nofollow">Bensinkort &#8211; 365 Privat Mastercard</a> =-.</p> ]]></content:encoded> </item> <item><title>By: Zach @ Mid Mo Mortgage</title><link>http://www.biggerpockets.com/renewsblog/2006/09/30/beware-of-fake-credit-report-sites/#comment-77892</link> <dc:creator>Zach @ Mid Mo Mortgage</dc:creator> <pubDate>Mon, 01 Feb 2010 19:43:59 +0000</pubDate> <guid isPermaLink="false">http://www.biggerpockets.com/renewsblog/2006/09/30/beware-of-fake-credit-report-sites/#comment-77892</guid> <description>I&#039;ve found a new scam via Craigslist.These scammers will prey on those looking for jobs by offering lucrative job openings, but then telling them they must apply for a free credit report before pre-qualifying for the position. Of course, the &quot;free&quot; credit report ends up being $30 after a 2-hour trial. Hmp! .-= Zach @ Mid Mo Mortgage&#180;s last blog ..&lt;a href=&quot;http://midmomortgage.com/missouri-press/jan-29-market-growth-surging-as-gdp-reports-forthcoming&quot; rel=&quot;nofollow&quot;&gt;Jan 29 – Market Growth Surging As GDP Reports Forthcoming&lt;/a&gt; =-.</description> <content:encoded><![CDATA[<p>I&#8217;ve found a new scam via Craigslist.</p><p>These scammers will prey on those looking for jobs by offering lucrative job openings, but then telling them they must apply for a free credit report before pre-qualifying for the position. Of course, the &#8220;free&#8221; credit report ends up being $30 after a 2-hour trial. Hmp!<br /> .-= Zach @ Mid Mo Mortgage&#180;s last blog ..<a href="http://midmomortgage.com/missouri-press/jan-29-market-growth-surging-as-gdp-reports-forthcoming" rel="nofollow">Jan 29 – Market Growth Surging As GDP Reports Forthcoming</a> =-.</p> ]]></content:encoded> </item> <item><title>By: 0845 Number</title><link>http://www.biggerpockets.com/renewsblog/2006/09/30/beware-of-fake-credit-report-sites/#comment-60647</link> <dc:creator>0845 Number</dc:creator> <pubDate>Tue, 14 Oct 2008 14:36:01 +0000</pubDate> <guid isPermaLink="false">http://www.biggerpockets.com/renewsblog/2006/09/30/beware-of-fake-credit-report-sites/#comment-60647</guid> <description>I am constantly receiving bogus emails at the moment offering free credit checks, asking me to verify bank details or paypal details etc. There seems to be a lot of this about at the moment and it does not seem to be slowing down. Beware that most legitimate companies will not email you, or telephone for that matter, asking to clarify your personal details!</description> <content:encoded><![CDATA[<p>I am constantly receiving bogus emails at the moment offering free credit checks, asking me to verify bank details or paypal details etc. There seems to be a lot of this about at the moment and it does not seem to be slowing down. Beware that most legitimate companies will not email you, or telephone for that matter, asking to clarify your personal details!</p> ]]></content:encoded> </item> <item><title>By: Jeff</title><link>http://www.biggerpockets.com/renewsblog/2006/09/30/beware-of-fake-credit-report-sites/#comment-52904</link> <dc:creator>Jeff</dc:creator> <pubDate>Wed, 12 Dec 2007 15:33:19 +0000</pubDate> <guid isPermaLink="false">http://www.biggerpockets.com/renewsblog/2006/09/30/beware-of-fake-credit-report-sites/#comment-52904</guid> <description>I would definitely look for some security certificates and seals then do research on the sites before giving anyone your social security number. I&#039;m sure there are some phishing sites that look like the big 3 agencies, but aren&#039;t just like we see with PayPal.</description> <content:encoded><![CDATA[<p>I would definitely look for some security certificates and seals then do research on the sites before giving anyone your social security number. I&#8217;m sure there are some phishing sites that look like the big 3 agencies, but aren&#8217;t just like we see with PayPal.</p> ]]></content:encoded> </item> <item><title>By: 2 BROS BLOGGING</title><link>http://www.biggerpockets.com/renewsblog/2006/09/30/beware-of-fake-credit-report-sites/#comment-49929</link> <dc:creator>2 BROS BLOGGING</dc:creator> <pubDate>Fri, 18 May 2007 04:15:56 +0000</pubDate> <guid isPermaLink="false">http://www.biggerpockets.com/renewsblog/2006/09/30/beware-of-fake-credit-report-sites/#comment-49929</guid> <description>I would just go straight to the source, experian, transunion or equifax.  I&#039;ve heard that MYFICO is my fake-o from many people.</description> <content:encoded><![CDATA[<p>I would just go straight to the source, experian, transunion or equifax.  I&#8217;ve heard that MYFICO is my fake-o from many people.</p> ]]></content:encoded> </item> </channel> </rss>
<!-- Performance optimized by W3 Total Cache. Learn more: http://www.w3-edge.com/wordpress-plugins/

Minified using disk: basic
Page Caching using disk: enhanced
Object Caching 304/308 objects using disk: basic

Served from: www.biggerpockets.com @ 2012-02-11 12:58:23 -->
