Ready to Get Ripped Off? Bid on this Real Estate website

by Joshua Dorkin on May 9, 2007

  

Got ya! We’re not selling BiggerPockets (but would consider any serious 7 figure offers). I had to point out something that came across my desk that I thought was nothing short of rediculous. I got an unsolicited email from someone selling the website Flipping4Profits.com

Here is the message:

This One-of-a-Kind Website Domain is For Sale.

The perfect website name for anyone interested in the hottest Real Estate Market we have seen in years.

Your purchase also includes… www.Flipping4Profits.ca … for Canadian branding, and we can
assist you in creating your website.

If interested in discussing price email us at… EMAIL REMOVED

or click on the eBay link below…

Ebay Link

While this is innocent enough, I decided to have a look at the Ebay Auction. I couldn’t believe my eyes!

This guy has the nerve to sell an un-established, un-remarkable, 0 PR, 0 backlink website with a whopping starting bid of $100,000.00 !

I realize that I am providing free publicity for this guy, but I just had to share. In case you forgot, I once shared other crappy real estate sites you could own. While this is not that crappy, it certainly is a rip-off of unimaginable proportions!

If you don’t find this unreasonable, we have raised the price on this website since starting this post. We are now taking offers for BiggerPockets.com for the low, low price of $100,000,000! BUY BUY BUY!

Related posts:

  1. BiggerPockets Exclusive: Sneak Preview of Real Estate Website Realivent
  2. BiggerPockets SPAM-Bombed About “Free” Seminar from Consumer Advocate Website
  3. Introducing Virtual City – More Website Technology to Help Sell Real Estate?
  4. After Several Failures, A Successful Website Launch
  5. Real Estate Spam – First Edition
Got questions about this or other real estate topics? Ask on the BiggerPockets Forums.

You May Also Be Interested In...

{ 9 comments… read them below or add one }

1 Seth Winkleman May 9, 2007 at 10:10 am

Wow…my blog is for sale for 10mill…any offers?? I guess you can mark it up under anything to make a quick buck?

Reply

2 Shaun McLane May 9, 2007 at 1:33 pm

So funny. With all the UK lotteries I’ve won over the past month, I should have plenty to buy that site, and a few more like it. (For those of you lucky enough not to understand what I’m talking about….it’s spam)

Reply

3 Seth May 9, 2007 at 12:50 pm

Thats pretty funny. 10 million dollars? [Solicitations Removed from comments from Admin. Please comment without trying to market or sell stuff to us all everyone! It seems like every other comment made needs to be edited because it is some kind of pitch.] Also good luck with the blog…10 million is a lot of money.

Reply

4 Lorelei May 12, 2007 at 6:46 am

I totally agree with those who posted before me, this is indeed very amusing. And eh, $100,000,000 is indeed a low price! lol

Reply

5 Joshua Dorkin May 12, 2007 at 7:45 am

Thanks guys. People amaze me.

Reply

6 alex kurt May 21, 2007 at 5:19 pm

Das ist fantastisch site.

Reply

7 Collis May 21, 2007 at 6:57 pm

What a steal, I can’t believe you let a deal like that pass you by :-D

Still with all the web 2.0 valuations for sites like Facebook maybe this guy isn’t so way off after all :-)

Reply

8 Joshua Dorkin May 22, 2007 at 8:31 pm

It was hard Collis, but I was able to control myself.

Reply

9 Caitlynn Cheery May 22, 2007 at 9:10 pm

LOL. This post made me laugh. The owners of that domain name would be lucky to get bids on it. It’s a wonder where people get ideas like that, hoping that someone would be stupid enough to bite the bait.

Reply

Leave a Comment

Comment Policy:

• Use your name and only your name in the field designated for your name.
• No keywords allowed as anchor text in the name or comment fields.
• No signature links allowed under your comments
• You may use links in the body of your comment, but it must be relevant to the discussion at hand, and not merely be some promotional link.
• We will have NO reservations about deleting your content if we feel you are posting merely to get a link without adding value to our discussion.
• If you add value, but still post keywords, we'll use your post, but remove your link and keywords.
• For more information about acceptable practice, see our site rules.

Previous post:

Next post:

Copyright © 2004-2012 BiggerPockets, Inc. All Rights Reserved.
BiggerPockets® is a registered trademark of BiggerPockets, Inc.