probate needed for short sale?

22 Replies

This is my first time dealing with a short sale in which the owner on title is deceased.  The owner's son is considered the executor of the estate, according to the bank, but there is no legal trust set up.  We're close to getting an approval for an offer, and the subject of probate came up.  My broker is stumped in this situation as well; because the property is being sold as a short-sale, and there is no profit to be made, is the probate process even necessary?  Anyone have any experience or insights?  I want to prepare myself and my clients before we get in any deeper.

Hi

If there is no profit, why are you looking? You have  2 complex processes on your hands. Many details to consider. Tip: any Attorney will give you a few minutes of free time on the phone. They will blow it out of proportion somewhat, but that is your first step.

You mean there was no will? You are then at the mercy of courts decision. Find out what that is. Its public information. Go to the Probate Court house for your county. Be very polite and ask to see that file. Best to have Name of deceased, property address (did he live there) and date of death.

The fact that it is a short sale is irrelevant.  Does the "executor" have the court authorized power to sell the sell the property?  This is the only question.  Since you mentioned the son "is considered the executor", "by the bank" I'm guessing the son has no legal authority.  If not, then CA law will dictate, as to probate.  Someone competent in these matters, ie. title co., should have reviewed title for other liens and encumbrances at the outset of this process, and they could/should have advised on local probate/inheritance requirements.