Wholesaling a Short Sale

17 Replies

Hello my fellow mates,

I am very new to real estate investing and I'm still in the early learning phase. After a few weeks of research I have decided that I want to start my investing career with wholesaling.

Fortunately I have found an amazing deal in New York City. However after doing my research on the property, I found out that its a short sale. I spoke to the real estate agency and they claimed it was in contract. May someone please explain what "in contract" means? I did a little more digging and found out that an REO agent owns/manage(not sure how the property is associated with the REO agent).

How would I wholesale this short sale? How should I approach the REO agent about the property? How would I market this deal to investors?

Typically if something is under contract there is an accepted offer and they are working through the deal.

Short sales are typically harder to wholesale since there is a lender involved. I don't see a lender being to keen on offers being assigned to other buyers; lenders typically want the property gone.

@Cazemba Richards ,

Lenders typically don't accept contract assignments on short sales. If you're negotiating a short sale, the lender is dealing with YOU, not an unknown third party.

David J Dachtera

"Success is not a destination. Failure is not an event. Success is a process, failure is a choice."
- DJ Benedict

Banks will often place deed restrictions on properties they allow to be short saled to prevent the property from being flipped.

I'm wholesaling a short right now in Long Island. Just have your attorney buy a Corp. and sell the Corp (and all assets belonging to the Corp i.e. The purchase contract) for the assignment fee to your buyer.