Skip to content
1031 Exchanges

User Stats

Votes
Cole Hopkins
  • Investor
  • Charleston, SC
Votes |
1031 Exchange Scenario - worth it or not?

Cole Hopkins
  • Investor
  • Charleston, SC
Posted Nov 2 2018, 08:56

Hi All,

I have been investing in Charleston, SC for about 4 years now and recently continue to wonder if its in my best interest to do a 1031 exchange on my first duplex purchased in 2014. I would love to know your thoughts.

Property Specifics: The duplex was purchased in 2014 for around 250k in an up and coming area in DT Charleston. Since then, I have fixed it up a bit (put in about 35K to increase rents). About a year ago I did a cashout refinance to secure funds for other properties and the property reappraised for $480k. With that said, I now have more properties but with the new mortgage (after the refinance) I am making just enough on rents to pay the mortgage (no cash flow). 

My Thoughts:

With interest rates on the rise and the fact that I am basically breaking even on the property with no positive cashflow, I wonder if it in my best interest to sell and do a 1031 exchange into a larger multifamily that would generate positive cashflow before interest rates become to high for the numbers to make sense.