Converting private residence to rental and using 1031 exchange

4 Replies

I'm new to Bigger Pockets and have a question I haven't seen addressed. I am a 15% owner of an LLC that is selling a manufactured home park. Can I do a 1031 exchange for my own private residence that I am converting to a rental? So I would purchase and move in to a new home and begin renting our current. Then the LLC (via a "swap and drop", structured so just I am responsible) would purchase/exchange (at FMV) our current home as a rental/investment property. The benefit for me is that I could retain the property with no current tax cost because the gain on the sale/exchange (up to $500,000, which is about what we have on ours) is excluded under Sec. 121. Then I would just continue to rent the house at the stepped up basis. Here are the only articles I found that seem to indicate I can:

https://www.thetaxadviser.com/issues/2008/jul/convertingaresidencetorentalproperty.html

- Under second section called “Sale to Controlled Entity in Lieu of Conversion”.

https://www.realized1031.com/blog/you-can-do-a-1031-exchange-on-a-primary-residence-heres-how

- Whole article.

Any insights would be appreciated.

@Gregg Tucker , I think what you're saying is that you would sell your current primary residence to the LLC and take advantage of the primary residence exclusion. That works fine.

The LLC is going to sell the MHP and do a 1031 exchange. One of their replacement properties would be your former primary residence. Again that's fine. At 15% ownership you are not a related party.

Once the LLC has completed it's 1031 exchange it will dissolve and distribute the assets of the LLC to the former members - again fine. Will that house equal your 15% membership interest?

It feels kind of "step - ish" as a transaction.  So you'll want to verify with your cpa.  But I think your minority membership will allow it.