When is it too late to get a house in pre-foreclosure?

13 Replies

I'm a brand-spanking newbie but I'm eating up all the terrific information I can find on BP!!

In searching auction.com I ran across an old friend's house in pre-foreclosure.  The auction is scheduled in two weeks.  Could I still reach out to my friend and make him an offer?

Chances are slim at best.  Now the home is in the hands of the bank and not your friend. 

Bummer!  Thanks anyway, Curt!

It's my understanding that the house isn't literally in the banks hands untill after it doesn't sell at the auction.

Your friend would have to disclose to you all correspondence from the bank so you can see exactly the funds needed. One of the best ways to do this is to have them sign some sort of information release form so you can discuss their situation with the bank. The sooner you can catch the mortgage up the better to avoid additional attorney fees that the bank had to pay.
The general school of thought is that banks don't want a foreclosure on their books and would rather have the loan/mortgage caught up and become a performing asset.

A slim chance is better than no chance at all.

If there is equity, you simply buy it.

Originally posted by @Wayne Brooks :

If there is equity, you simply buy it.

I've seen this statement around but still am not exactly sure what it means.

What does it mean when a "property that has had the pre-foreclosure complaint filed against it still has equity?"

How do you figure out if it does or does not? 

If you find that it does, do you proceed with attempting to get it under contract as normal, by contacting the homeowner and making an offer?