Help to get refinanced before foreclosure starts

21 Replies

I have owned our house for 12 years. VA loan, as I am a vet. I was a stay at home Dad with a part time job at nights. My wife worked a full time job days. about 18 months ago, she wanted out of her job and start her own business. Boys were old enough, and I got a day job and kept my part time job. Her business hasn't produced the numbers we hoped.

Since then we started struggling. We called our mortgage company (PNC) to see what we could do before we got behind. They told us they couldn't work with us BECAUSE we weren't behind. So we skipped a month and called them back. Six months and 700 faxed pages later, they said there was nothing they could do. it wasn't in their best interest to refinance. we had been making payments, albeit each one a month behind, as we thought it would all work out.

Now our credit report shows seven months of late payments and no one will talk to us about refinancing. They say to wait until we show only two late payments out of the past 12 months. Our house would sell for about $225k and we only owe $150K. But to wait until February is not an option, as we will not be able to make Novembers payment at this rate.

QUESTION:  I know the usual....Friends, Family, loan.....  They have either been tried, tapped out or denied.  Any ideas on who can help us.?  If we pulled $50k of equity out to pay off debt, there would be more than adequate funds for monthly mortgage.

Your thoughts on this are appreciated.

John,

Here are a few details from your local VA Benefits Center...

"When serious financial troubles arise, it is obvious that living expenses must be cut to the bone. Most of the luxuries previously enjoyed, and even some things which may have been thought of as necessary, may have to be dropped for a time.